Arab American Heritage Month

By: Christina Bein – LCSW 

What a momentous occasion! Arab American Heritage Month passed permanent legislation to be recognized in the month of April by three states (Illinois, Oregon, and Virginia). More states are following in this effort to celebrate the culture and contributions to the community. 2022 may be the first year for these states to honor Arab Americans with this legislation, but it has been celebrated in schools and communities decades before.

Many Arab Americans have been part of the U.S. nation for multiple generations. Countries recognized as part of the Arab heritage include Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

To learn more about Arab American culture, check out the following links: